Space Institute Leadership

Executive Committee

Space Institute Director

Michael W. Liemohn

Michael Liemohn

U-M Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering

Space Institute Associate Directors

Kathleen Sevener

Campus Community Engagement: Kathleen Sevener

U-M Materials Science & Engineering

Engaging the full U-M campus community with the Space Institute

James Cutler

Education: James Cutler

U-M Aerospace Engineering

Developing new courses for CubeSat design, build, and test experiences for students

Eleni Gourgou

Space Biology: Eleni Gourgou

U-M Mechanical Engineering

Connecting space technology with space biology.

Mirko Gamba

External Engagement: Mirko Gamba

U-M Aerospace Engineering

Connecting with alumni, friends, corporations, and government agencies.

Space Institute Liaisons

CLASP Prof. Brian Gilchrist

Director of the Leinweber Space Innovation Laboratory: Brian Gilchrist

U-M Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
U-M Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering

Bringing faculty and students together to formulate new space projects into realistic ideas, actual designs, and submitted proposals.

Susan T. Lepri

Director of the Space Physics Research Laboratory: Susan Lepri

U-M Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering

Coordinating professional engineering for space hardware projects

Mark Moldwin

Director of the Space Grant Coordination: Mark Moldwin

U-M Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering

Connecting the Space Institute with MSGC